ONEIDA COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES PUBLIC NOTICE

Pursuant to Section 19.34(1), Stats, this Notice is provided to the public as to the times, place and methods whereby the public may gain access for the purposes of inspection and copying of public records maintained by the Department of Social Services.

<u>AUTHORITY:</u> Department of Social Services, PO Box 400, Oneida County Courthouse, Rhinelander, WI 54501.

The authority and duties of the Department of Social Services are established in Section 46.22(1)(b) Wisconsin Statutes. The committee of jurisdiction as established in Section 46.22(1m) Wisconsin Statutes is the Social Services/Family Care Committee.

<u>LEGAL CUSTODIAN:</u> Mary Rideout, Director; Alternates: Brenda Lee, Social Work Supervisor, Beth Hoerchler, Social Work Supervisor.

<u>ESTABLISHED TIMES FOR ACCESS:</u> The Oneida County Department of Social Service office hours are 8:00 am to 4:30 pm., Monday through Friday.

<u>PLACE OF ACCESS:</u> Oneida County Department of Social Services, Courthouse Building, Rhinelander, WI.

METHOD OF ACCESS: Requests for records can be made to any Department of Social Services employee. A "Record Request Form" is available if you choose to make a written request. If you choose not to put your request in writing on the Record Request Form, a staff person will do so in order to process your request. Identification of requester shall only be required as provided by law. Each requester shall reasonably describe the type of record or information requested. Requests will be reviewed to determine if the requester has legal access to the record. Oral requests may be denied orally. If the requester submits a written demand for a written statement of reasons for the denial within five (5) business days of the oral denial, the custodian shall provide such written statement. Any review of department records will be done in the presence of department staff.

<u>COPYING OF RECORDS, COST OF COPIES AND RESEARCH:</u> Copies of records or information shall be provided to the requester at the established rate of \$0.10 per copy or \$0.20 per CD/DVD. Prepayment is required if the fees assessed exceed \$5.00. In the event that the cost, in terms of labor and other expense, of locating a record exceeds \$50.00, the requester shall be assessed such costs.